Fish have the most diverse vertebrae out of most living things on the planet. The wide variety of these animals make it a necessity for us to classify them into specific groups. Some fish even lack vertebrae and make way for numerous exceptions when being categorized into groups. Fish can be one of the most exciting animals with their evolving anatomy and variety of functions. Their skeletons classify most fish and seafood, and a common query is raised to determine the kinds of fish that have fins and scales and those which do not. This also holds importance in the Jewish Religion, which highlights the unclean and clean types of fish to eat. Some fish have a lack of common limbs or skeletal parts, and yet, they still adapt perfectly to their environment. However, most fishes in the food industry are those which possess both fins and scales.

You are watching: Does catfish have scales and fins


As we know from biology, fins help the fish swim, while scales cover the body.

Does salmon have scales?

Yes, salmon has scales that begin to grow at the fry stage. The salmon’s scales overlap to some form a flexible armor plating at salmons that protect them from bruising and predators.

Over the past centuries, all living things have evolved to adapt better to rough environments and climates and fend for predators or prey. Similarly, fish have evolved over the years for the same reason. Taking this into consideration, the skeletal composition of a fish is essential to ensure its protection in water bodies from harmful predators, parasites, and physical injury. Fish are mainly reliant on their skeletal composition as the absence of limbs can make them susceptible to dangerous predators. The main parts of a fish that we learn about are the fins and scales. Regardless of the strength of a fish, fins assist in movement. But alas, all fishes need some form of protection.

Does flounder have scales?

Yes, flounder has scales. Flounder is kosher because it has both fins and scales.

This is where we see the role of scales be highlighted as scales were evolved to fulfill the purpose of protection for small or comparatively weakfish against the environment and predators. The scales on a fish are usually complex, and they stretch throughout the body of a fish. This does not necessarily mean that the fish that do not have scales aren’t protected. They have different characteristics that can prevent them from facing harm or trouble and adapt to harsh environments. Enhanced sensory organs compensate for the absence of scales in certain fish to protect themselves better.

It is common for us to mistake fish with smooth skin as scaleless fish; however, that is not the case. Most fish have small, thin scales which are near impossible to detect with the naked eye. However, most scaleless fish vary in behavior and morphology. Therefore, these fish are categorized to get a better understanding of their behaviors.

Fish without scales

Fish without scales are sharks, catfish, rays, skates, chimeras, moray eels, paddlefishes, sturgeons, combtooth blennies, sailfin blennies, hagfishes, and lampreys.

Jawless fish are biologically termed Petromyzontiformes. These comprise lampreys.Chimaeriformes, which are known commonly as “Ratfish.”Anguilliformes, which comprise of conger eel and moray eelSiluriformes, also known as catfishMyxiniformes, which are hagfish and agnate fish.Apart from these main categories, we also know Freshwater Blenny, a scaleless fish, swordfish, common sturgeon, and tiger sorubim.


Does codfish have scales?

Yes, codfish has scales. Codfish is kosher because it has both fins and scales.

Do sardines have scales?

Yes, sardines have scales. However, sardines do not have scales on the head. Sardines are small, silvery, elongated fishes with a single short dorsal fin.

Does tilapia have scales?

Yes, tilapia has scales. Tilapia has a long dorsal fin, a lateral line that breaks towards the end of the dorsal fin, and two or three rows of scales below.

Similarly, fins are an essential part of fish anatomy. They help fish gain momentum, give them a lift, and steering ability, as well as braking ability. As legs are to humans, fins are to fish. Modern fish have a vast array of fin structures and shapes. Certain fish have no scales, but they have fins. Naturally, a fish is heavier than water and requires fins to stay up. Still, not all fish have fins, and those that don’t have developed body parts that help them adapt quickly and are found in habitats made for them. Fish fins generally have seven main types. In some cases, fishes have an incomplete fin; some have different variations of the same type of fine, for example, a divided dorsal fin and a joint one. The anatomical evolution depends mainly on its habitat and environment and the type of water body it lives in. Widely known fish that have fins but no present scales are called tuna.

Fish with fins and scales

Fish with fins and scales are shrimp/prawns, scallops, lobster, oysters, mussels, octopus, squid, crabs. There are also shellfish that have no vertebrae and are encased in a hard shell. Examples of these are oysters, clams, or mussels. Similarly, shrimps, lobsters, and crabs are known as crustaceans as they are developed inside a hard outer covering.

However, fish have both fins and scales, which are considered “true fish.” They are also categorized as kosher fish in the Jewish religion and are widely preferred compared to other fishes that lack either scales or fins. More kosher fish (scales and fins) are bass, cod, carp, flounder, halibut, herring, trout, mackerel, and salmon.

Does tuna have fins and scales?

Yes, tuna has scales and fins. Tuna is kosher because it has both fins and scales. However, tuna has very few scales.

Other fish that have both fins and scales are grouper fish, tilapia, and red snapper.

Many of these fishes are considered delicacies globally and can make up some of the most expensive dishes. Most fishes require the removal of their scales, so it is easier to eat them. In a religious perspective, particularly Jewish, the fish that have both fins and scales, a minimum of one of each, are considered clean fish that can be eaten, and the ones with none of either are considered unclean.

However, regardless of certain skeletal parts in fish, some types of fish can be very harmful to eat, for example, Tilapia, Atlantic Cod, Atlantic Flatfish, and caviar. These are harmful to the consumer, and fishes like Beluga sturgeon are almost endangered because their caviar is sought after.

See more: How Long Does It Take To Do A 1000 Piece Puzzle Take You To Solve?

Thus, fish should be carefully dealt with and properly researched to prevent any harm from reaching them like all living things. Besides, time makes way for the further evolution of these animals, which can bring forth even more exciting facts about fishes and their ever-changing plethora of skeletal structures.